Where does the term silly goose come from?

Quora. How did the "silly goose" phrase originate? According to the Oxford English Dictionary, silly is an alternate form of the earlier word seely, which, when applied to animals as early as the 13th century, was used to describe them as “innocent” or “harmless”.