What colors are in the northern lights?

The colors most associated with the aurora borealis, or Northern Lights, are pink, green, yellow, blue, violet, and occasionally orange and white. Colors are caused by particles from the solar wind colliding with gases in the atmosphere. Collisions with different gases produce different colors.