How fast is the world's fastest race car?

In 1977 in the Mojave Desert, Kitty O'Neil piloted a hydrogen peroxide powered rocket dragster built by Ky Michaelson to the quickest quarter mile elapsed time in auto history, with a timed run of 3.22 seconds at 396 mph (637 kmh) with an average speed of 279.5 mph (449.8 kmh).