How do you take care of koi fish?

Keep mature koi in an outdoor pond of at least 3 feet deep, with at least 50 gallons of water per fish. Young koi can be kept indoors in an aquarium of at least 29 gallons. Put the aquarium in a quiet area out of direct sunlight and drafts.