What's the difference between a duvet and a comforter?

A duvet is a soft, flatter version of a comforter that is usually filled with synthetic fibers or down such as feather or wool. Unlike a comforter, they're not supposed to be quilted or stitched. Duvets are meant to be a type of insert, and are sold separately from other duvet covers or coverlets.

---

A duvet cover has no stuffing. You put a comforter filled with down or cotton in a duvet cover for warmth. A comforter is already stuffed.