What is the song eye of the tiger about?

The song “Eye of the Tiger” was written specifically for a movie (“Rocky III”). In this movie, the protagonist is a boxer who has to train hard, both mentally and physically, in order to win a big match. And that’s the basic premise upon which “Eye of the Tiger” is set.