Was king charles the third in the military?

Yes. He obtained his RAF wings in August 1971. He then started a naval career at the Royal Naval College Dartmouth. Then he served on the HMS Norfolk, HMS Minerva, and HMS Jupiter. In 1974, he qualified as a helicopter pilot. He commanded the HMS Bronington. In 1978 he took parachute training.