What part of the cow does a london broil come from?

London broil, or top round, is a muscular piece of meat cut from the rear of the cow. Not from the expensive loin section and not large enough to be considered a roast, the top round is lean but tough, which is why preparing it properly is important to the enjoyment of the cut.