What does tapas mean in spanish?

Tapas comes from the Spanish word tapar, which means “to cover” or “lid” Traditionally they are small savoury dishes, snacks or appetisers of Spanish cuisine. It might be breads and meat, or a selection of dishes from ham, stuffed mussels, fried squid, olives, sautéed mushroom and other vegetables