Is turbinado sugar the same as brown sugar?

Turbinado sugar is a healthier and less processed version of brown sugar. Thus making it in the same realm. You can substitute this for Brown sugar if you're looking for a healthier option using the same portion sizes recommended for your recipe.

---

Both sugars have a molasses flavor that has notes of butterscotch or caramel, but turbinado sugar has less molasses so it is milder than that of brown sugar.