How many breeds of birds are there in the world?

Birds are traditionally thought of as a well-studied group, with more than 95 per cent of their global species diversity estimated to have been described. Most checklists used by bird watchers as well as by scientists say that there are roughly between 9,000 and 10,000 species of birds.