What is dunkirk?

In May 1940, Germany advanced into France, trapping Allied troops on the beaches of Dunkirk. Under air and ground cover from British and French forces, troops were evacuated from the beach using anything that would float. 330,000 French, British, Belgian and Dutch soldiers were safely evacuated.