What was the first space lab?

On April 19, 1971, the Soviet Union placed into orbit Salyut, the world's first space station. Designed for a 6-month on orbit operational lifetime, Salyut hosted the crew of Georgi T. Dobrovolski, Vladislav N. Volkov, and Viktor I.