What does a dry nose on a dog mean?

A dog's dry nose may be a symptom of (1) allergies; (2) other irritants such as plastic food dishes; (3) dehydration; (4) sunburn or remaining too close to another heat source; (5) the dog's inability to keep it moist with its tongue.