Where are elephants born?

African elephants range throughout the savannas of sub-Saharan Africa and the rainforests of Central and West Africa. The continent's northernmost elephants are found in Mali's Sahel Desert. The small, nomadic herd of Mali elephants migrates in a circular route through the desert in search of water.