How many pokemon coins are there?

Currently you earn 1 Pokécoin every 10 minutes you defend a gym, up to a maximum of 50 coins per day. This equates to 8.33 hours of defending a gym per day for the daily cap of 50 coins. Under the new system, you will earn 1 Pokécoin every 30 minutes, up to a maximum of 55 coins per day.