Can you use trolling motor on large boat?

Any motor can be used on any boat, but the propulsion is proportional to the mass. A trolling motor with say 25 pounds of thrust would eventually move a large boat in very still water, but it would take a long wile to build up any speed at all and then it wouldn't have the thrust to safely stop it.