What is a kiel on a boat?

It is spelled k-e-e-l. It is the spine on the bottom of the hull. Many boats do not have a keel: canoes for lakes or flatwater have no keel. The keel stabilizes the boat and the phrase "keel over" comes from nautical terms. Taking waves in parallel to the keel causes it to tip sideways.