Why is john williams called america's composer?

John Williams compositions in movies are part of the fabric of American society. These include ET The Extra Terrestrial, Jaws, Star Wars series, Lincoln, Harry Potter, Saving Private Ryan, Indiana Jones series, Close Encounters of the 3rd Kind, Towering Inferno, The Poseidon Adventure and many more.