What was the first animation ever made?

Humorous Phases of Funny Faces (1906), by J. Stuart Blackton is widely considered as the first example of animation on film. However, there are examples of stop-motion or stop-frame animation being used in films as early as 1898 with The Humpty Dumpty Circus as well as The Enchanted Drawing in 1900