How did dragonflies get their name?

Saint George's horse became a giant flying insect when cursed by the devil. In the Romanian language, the word for dragonfly translates into Devil's Horse or Devil's fly. The Romanian word for devil is drac, which can also indicate dragon. In English, it translated to dragonfly.