Where does poinsettias come from?

Joel Roberts Poinsett introduced the poinsettia plant to the United States from Mexico. Poinsett was a botanist, physician and the first United States Ambassador to Mexico. In Mexico the poinsettia is a perennial shrub that will grow 10-15 feet tall. There are more than 100 varieties of poinsettias.