What is the fastest car in the world how fast can it go?

The current world record for fastest land vehicle is held by the ThrustSSC and pilot Andy Green. On October 15, 1997, its twin jet engines propelled it to 763.035 mph (1227.985 kph), or Mach 1.016, over the length of one mile.