Who plays mufasa in the new lion king?

James Earl Jones (left) will play Mufasa again and Donald Glover (right) is going to play the lead role of Simba. James Earl Jones, who was the voice of Simba's dad Mufasa in the original animated film, takes on the role again in the live-action version.