What's of clouds and thunderstorms?

Thunderstorms occur in a type of cloud called a cumulonimbus. As the rising air reaches its dew point temp., water vapor condenses into water droplets or ice, reducing pressure locally within the thunderstorm cell. Any precipitation falls the long distance through the clouds to the Earth's surface.