Why can't penguins fly?

Scientists believe penguins can't fly because they likely had little or no threat from predators in their past because they didn't have anything to fly away from. They relied on the oceans for food, so developing flippers to swim well was more important than growing wings to fly.

---

Their body shape, weight and wing size are not conducive to flying--but are to swimming and diving.