What does a cucumber taste like?

Cucumbers have a mild, lightly sweet flavour due to their high water content. They are crisp, cool and refreshing to eat raw—hence the saying “cool as a cucumber.” Cucumber skin has an earthier taste, but many people leave it on for its texture, flavor and health benefits.