What is rawhide for dogs?

Rawhide treats are made from the lining of hides from cows or horses. It is dried, treated, ground and shaped into treat shapes. They are good for chewing, but eating too many can upset a dog’s digestion. An owner must also be aware of the possibility of contamination of the treats.