Why are english cucumbers individually wrapped?

English cucumbers are individually wrapped because their skin is thinner than standard garden cucumbers, and because the skin of English cucumbers can be unwaxed. The plastic wrapping protects the cucumber from damage and loss of moisture that leads to shriveling.