When were matches made?

Friction matches were first introduced to the public in 1826 by John Walker, English chemist and druggist from Stockton-on-Tees. It was made by combining paste of sulfur with gum, potassium chlorate, sugar, antimony trisulfide, and ignited by drawing the match between the fold of sandpaper.