Why is a red onion purple?

Because it's just relict vernacular terminology from many centuries ago when English speakers (and speakers of other languages) were more general and loose with colors, since there were less words for colors, so that's why “red onions” and “red cabbages” are purple, and “red heads” have orange hair.