What's a kabutz?

A kibbutz is a type of settlement which is unique to Israel. A collective community, traditionally agrarian. The first kibbutz was Deganya Aleph, founded in 1910. Today, there are over 270 kibbutz in Israel. They have diversified greatly since their agricultural beginnings and many are now private.