What are cannabinoid receptors?

Cannabinoid receptors are specific proteins, existing on cell membranes to which cannabinoid compounds readily adhere. The presence of cannabinoids in these receptors serve as chemical regulators for numerous systems in the body and can influence pain, mood, appetite, memory and more.