Which state is the most mountainous?

According to wgntv.com, Alaska, California, and Colorado have the highest mountains, but also contain extensive plains and relatively flat valleys. It turns out that West Virginia is the nation's most mountainous state, though its highest peak, Spruce Mountain, is only about 4,864 feet in height.