What side of the plate does the knife and fork go on?

Traditionally, the fork and knife go on opposite sides of the plate. The fork on the left, the knife and spoon to the right. The number of letters in fork and left are the same at 4. The number of letters in knife, spoon and right are 5. This can help you remember.