How many minutes per pound do you roast a chicken?

Preheat oven to 450 degrees F (230 degrees C) and cook whole (thawed) chicken for 10-15 minutes. Then roast the chicken for 20 minutes per pound at 350 degrees F ( 175 degrees C ).