Do you have to peel a squash?

It depends on the variety of squash. Generally, summer squash like zucchini have a thin skin, and do not need to be peeled. But winter squash, like pumpkin or butternut, have thick skin that would be hard to eat. So they are usually peeled, or the cooked squash flesh is scooped out.