What is breadfruit?

Breadfruit is a large, round fruit grown in the South Pacific and other tropical areas. It may be roasted, baked, boiled, fried, or dried and ground into flour

---

Breadfruit is a staple food in many tropical regions. Before being eaten, the fruit are roasted, baked, fried or boiled. When cooked, the taste of moderately ripe breadfruit is described as potato-like, or similar to freshly baked bread. One breadfruit tree can produce 450 lb. each season.