Who played the father in the waltons?

John Walton Sr. was played by actor Ralph Waite. Waite went on to recurring roles in NCIS and Days of our Lives. His movie work includes the classic films Cool Hand Luke, Five Easy Pieces and The Magnificent Seven. Sadly, Waite died in 2014 at the age of 85