What does the black diamond on a tape measure mean?

The black diamond is meant to signify the center area between studs in a home or building. ... The black diamonds on the tape measure represent that spacing. The first black diamond is at 19.2” and after that black diamonds appear at 38.4”, 57.6”, 76.8” and 96”, or 8-feet.