Where did the saying don't wear white after labor day come from?

Coco Chanel in 1969, sticking it to those 19th-century mean girls. For those who had money and could leave the city during warmer months, white was considered vacation attire.

---

It was created by Coco Chanel in 1969, sticking it to those 19th-century mean girls. When the summer months were over, affluent residents would leave the city for warmer vacation spots. Wearing white represented that you could afford to get out of the city and vacation elsewhere when summer ended.