What's the meaning of australia?

The name Australia is derived from a Latin word meaning south. It is a shortened form of Terra Australis Incognita, unknown south land, which Europeans believed must exist in the southern hemisphere. Australia appeared in print as early as 1545, and was made popular in the early 19th century.