How many blocks are in a minecraft world?

The blocks in a world are infinite. Though you can only see a chunk of the world at a time. The chunks visual area is a 16 block width by 16 block length by 256 block height, meaning that you can only see a total volume of 65,536 blocks.

---

There are an infinite amount of blocks in an infinite minecraft world, but in an old minecraft world there are roughly 4.2 million blocks.