Why is a banana considered a berry?

A berry is technically defined as coming from a single flower with a single ovary. The entire ovary becomes fleshy and can contain one to many seeds. This includes grapes, tomatoes, and kiwis. Technically, a banana is also a berry, while strawberries and blackberries are not.