Where is the two oh eight area code from?

Area codes 208 and 986 are the area codes in the North American Numbering Plan for all of Idaho. Area code 208 is one of the 86 original area codes created by AT&T in 1947. It was Idaho's sole area code until 2017, when 986 was added as an overlay plan for the entire state.