What is bran mash?

Bran mash is a edible food for horses, consisting of mixed wheat bran and warm water. It is sometimes mixed with additional ingredients such fruits or vegetables when given as a treat. It also has laxative properties that may help ease digestive problems and aid in softening bowel movements.