Why did the winter war start?

In 1939, the USSR sought to push its border with Finland westward to buttress the security of Leningrad from potential German attack. When the Soviet proposals for peaceful acquisition of Finnish territory were refused, the Soviets launched an attack on November 30, 1939, starting the Winter War.