What is a jewelers aid?

The answer to the crossword puzzle clue "Jeweler's Aid" would be LOUPE. A loupe is a small magnifying glass used by the jewelers to measure and inspect their stones. The tool is easily foldable and measures approximately half an inch in diameter.