How did the united states get into world war i?

Germany's resumption of submarine attacks on passenger and merchant ships in 1917 became the primary motivation behind Wilson's decision to lead the United States into World War 1. The United States declared war on the German Empire on April 6th 1917, nearly three years after World War 1 started.