When does cheese go bad?

Generally, the harder the cheese is, the longer it lasts. Firm cheeses such as cheddar can last 4-6 months unopened, and 3-4 weeks after opening if kept refrigerated. Shredding cheeses can shorten shelf life to less than a week.